Severance Pay Government University

petedk

I have been working at my university for 23 years now on a rolling 1 year contract and I have been told that this is my last contract due to my age. The university has said that they don't pay severance pay. I know they try to keep expenses for foreign teachers as low as possible by not involving us in many of the seminars and courses etc, and they even tried to cut my social security payment a couple of years ago.

I have read many places about teachers at private schools and government schools receiving severance pay, but I read somewhere (I can't find it now) that teachers at government universities do not receive severance pay. This would seem strange as we are not employed with any of the advantages of government officers and in fact just "basic workers". 

Has anyone any knowledge of government university teachers receiving severance pay?

• Like 1

2 hours ago, puchooay said:

There have been so many posts about this in the past.

They usually end up as a "Yes, you can" and a "No, you can't" arguement.

In truth, I don't think there is really a definitive answer.

Go to the labour office. Show them as much information as you can about your employment history and see what they say.

Yes, I have seen many posts about this, but as you say I cannot find a definite answer.

I remember on Ajarn.com forum someone saying that he was about to retire from a government university and he would keep us posted, but never saw any more.

It often seems that government universities consider themselves outside the law.

Anyway yes I will follow your advice when the time comes. I just thought it would be easier if we could find just one definite "yes".

Hello.

Do you mind if I ask you a few questions?

How old are you? 

What qualifications do you have?

Do you have any kind of pension?  I assume you got nothing but your pay from the university?

What are your plans now?