Work As An English Teacher

thaipan

G'day folks,

As it is my intention to retire within the next 2/3 months, I was wondering how I can get work as an English teacher, I have no teaching credentials so how hard would it be for me to get work, the money is not that important it's really to stop me from becoming bored and I do have a Thai wife and young son.

Regards.

Thaipan

Numpty has given you good directio.,

just remember "retire" if you apply for a retirement visa you can't work!

You will need a non immg visa B but you can arrive on an O and if you still desire to teach change to a B once work has been arranged.

I am no expert in these matters but it is for definate that retirement visa means no work!! :o

G'day folks,

As it is my intention to retire within the next 2/3 months, I was wondering how I can get work as an English teacher, I have no teaching credentials so how hard would it be for me to get work, the money is not that important it's really to stop me from becoming bored and I do have a Thai wife and young son.

Regards.

Thaipan

At least complete one of the many accredited ELT training courses on offer before you inflict yourself on your students. :o

1. Take TEFL training in Ban Phe with TEFL International, or a Celta course at ECC.

Make sure you know what you are doing. Get some good texts and supplementary materials. A computer and color printer, or hand made art materials for making your own supplementary materials. A tape recorder and some tapes.

2. Find a place where you want to live.

3. Make friends with your neighbors. It would be a good idea to take some Thai lessons in there somewhere!

4. Get someone to help you recruit students, place ads in thai newspaper, make flyers in Thai etc.

Teach at your home or at your student's place in your spare time. If in your home, have a room set aside, such as an office, which is for teaching/business only and looks that way.