Work Permit - Turn In Upon Quitting?

jt936

You can get another job without turning it in, but when you go down to the Labour Dept to get another work permit you'll have to pay a fine.

As of last year, the fine was 1 or 2 thousand baht (I don't remember, but it was one of those two figures). Not a lot.

If you still have it, you can just hand it over then + the fine. If you don't have it, you will need to go to any police box and tell them you lost it. You fill out some paperwork and then they give you a 'lost document' receipt which you take to the Labour Dept. The normal fee the police charge for this is anything from free to around 40 baht.

Not a big deal if you don't turn your work permit in, though of course it's better to follow the rules than not.

Pardon me, since I'm no expert, but I thought that any farang with a work permit on an Extended visa had to surrender the cancelled work permit AND LEAVE THE KINGDOM within seven days. In other words, his (extended) visa would cancel within a week of the work permit. That is a big deal, I would think.

Of course, if his employer and he never notify Labour Ministry of the cancelled WP, nobody knows. And if he's not on an extended visa, his current visa is okay probably (but he has no valid work permit). Lastly, if he's lucky enough to get a new job offer within the 7 days and his new employer and old employer can agree with the Labour officers.....but that's not likely to happen.

Hi PB. The above is true if he has the extended visa ( more likely )

If he is here on a B visa ( 90 day ) then he can still lawfully hold a WP and if the WP cancels then he is not required to leave the country within that 7 day time frame. He remains here on his B visa.

Hope that helps?