Olives

lecol

Yes, they can. I actually looked into this a dozen or so years ago. My conclusion was that I was too old to seriously consider it, as the payout starts 20 years after the investment. A good decision for me, I think, but depending on your age, maybe a possibility for you. The east, Issan, is where you'd want to do it, but I actually think that there is a much better agricultural opportunity in Thailand. Email me if interested in my thoughts. walker

Close to my house in the paddy fields of Saraphi is a small soi flanked by dozens of olive trees (as what I would consider but I'm not an olive expert) which no one harvests.

PM to me if interested.

rebo

They might well grow here BUT how well?

Thailand has nothing like the climate in the traditional olive growing countries such as Spain and Israel.

I daresay that you can grow apples here but they are likely to be pretty sh1t.

Same for many crops i.e. tomatoes, I dunno where they grow them in Thailand but most that find their way into markets and supermarkets are priced about the same as gold and most are absolute rubbish.

A certain climate is required for various crops i.e. you don't see much citrus growing in the south of NZ nor do you see lychees in NZ.

They grow tomatoes all over and one reason that they are trash is the Thai do not really understand anything about farming,even rice,the way they do everything is very labor intensive,,tomatoes are of ther commercial grade and picked way to green, but a lot of things just do not grow to a size that they would other places,and Apples grown here are really quite nice,they havent learned to pick em so green yet,just wait,pomagranites are never left to ripen,and they wonder whay they are not fit to eat.

I really do not think that most olives will produce a good crop here as the humidity is just to high from what I have seen in good olive country, but maybe over in ISSAN,I don't know,never lived over there. and maybe a strain that will do OK.