BANGKOK 21 July 2019 15:27

I'm a Producer/Director moving from Los Angeles to Bangkok in September and I'd be interested to hear anything about the film biz in Thailand.

I've done some preliminary research through the BOI and I know about the proposed 'movie town' in Tambon Bangkrachao, but I'm interested in any first hand experiences expats have had working with Thai filmmakers or production companies.

Should I expect to be welcomed with open arms or shunned as a farang sniping Thai jobs?

:o

There are no foreigners working in the Thai movie industry. Never have been, never will be. No Thai would ever run the risk of a Caucasian getting credit for having accomplished something worthwhile. It would only prove that Thais couldn't do it themselves. Stay in LA. You have no chance whatsoever here.

There are no foreigners working in the Thai movie industry. Never have been, never will be. No Thai would ever run the risk of a Caucasian getting credit for having accomplished something worthwhile. It would only prove that Thais couldn't do it themselves. Stay in LA. You have no chance whatsoever here.

Maybe not in Thai Movies, But there certainly are foreigners working in Thailand on Foreign productions. I know this first hand as I am one of them.

/SM

My understanding was that the poster was asking about his chances of 'breaking into the Thai movie industry.' Apologies if I was reading him wrong. While I know that foreigners do work on foreign productions here, and he might somehow find work on one of them, I don't know of any scuh productions that have actually originated here -- i.e. within what one would normally call 'the Thai movie industry.' They are all, as far as I know, imported shoots. Thais don't make English-language films for the foreign market, only Thai language films for the local market.