Grey Costs Of Small Business In Thailand.

soundman

In many threads across the Thai Visa forum these issues appear time and time again.

maxbus1

Not to hijack an intelligent post (I'm thinking of moving to Chonburi with the wife and finding something for me to do business wise, small food or coffee or beer place) but my biggest concerns and questions are about what will be required of the crooked police and mafia? I can't imagine all these stories about bribes are not true... A farang face on a new storefront, what kind of things will I be concerned about?

Maybe I should go to work for someone else... :D I'm a plumber and building inspector in the states. Probably not much call for this type of instruction or service in thailand? Thanks guys. max.

p.s. yes, I'm looking up to you business owners! :D

Lets discuss!

In my experience small business in rural Thailand is not subject to open & blatant protectionism rackets and the like. This may be different for those running businesses in tourist areas, but I have little experience there & would like to hear from those that do.

Situations that commonly creep up where "bribes" or "incentive payments" are expected are more along the lines of: For eg.

You want a new water line to your business. There will be a standard fee from the water department, however, unless a "present" is included for the supervising engineer it may take months to receive service. This is by no means an everyday occurrence in the utilities sector - but does happen.

Highway tax - police will allways find something wrong with your delivery vehice or driver. Daily occurrence & just has to be factored into the cost of your product. No tax deduction though! :o

One "scam" that I want to hear more about has to do with interent cafes and customers downloading ripped Thai music. Anyone with firsthand experience please post.