Exportation

bluegirl72

Curious to know what it would take to start up an exporting company, SMALL scale, exporting Thai silks, Thai fabric in general. I have a degree in textile design thus know LOTS about the fabric side, have used thai-silk exclusively when working on my own fabric designing, and I know of a few places that would love to have these fabrics. My husband and I are throwing around this idea, starting a busines that exports the silk.

Links as well as resources that would help in our research would be great! We are presently living in Bangkok, I am a teacher here.

Cheers,

bluegirl72 & nisei23

Curious to know what it would take to start up an exporting company, SMALL scale, exporting Thai silks, Thai fabric in general. I have a degree in textile design thus know LOTS about the fabric side, have used thai-silk exclusively when working on my own fabric designing, and I know of a few places that would love to have these fabrics. My husband and I are throwing around this idea, starting a busines that exports the silk.

Links as well as resources that would help in our research would be great! We are presently living in Bangkok, I am a teacher here.

Cheers,

bluegirl72 & nisei23

I have been exporting silk for the last year. Only small scale though. Before i started exporting i know nothing about silk and have no knowledge of textile design. All i need to know is the right people to approach and then i can sell. I guess i make about 6000 baht per month on average. It's not much but it's really more of a past time than a business, (for now!).

With your knowledge you should be able to do a much better job than me.

Good luck to both of you.

To do this professionally, you have to set up a company first and register it with Thai customs. The latter is easy, for setting up a company check this forum, a vast amount of info around here. If you are not Thai you will also need a work permit, again, lots of info in this forum.