Why Can't Thai People Understand Me?

simon43

I'm feeling pretty despondent!! I've been learning to read/write/speak Thai for a few months now, although I've been living here for about 2 years. I'm pretty good at reading Thai aloud, although I may not understand all the words! But I understand the tonal system/class etc etc.

My Thai teacher and my Thai GF can understand me fine when I speak Thai :o

Today I was at my office and had to tell the security guy that I was going to bring my car later that day. So I first told him that I had an office in the building.

The guy could not understand one word of what I said! He called over the other 2 guards and I tried again. No joy!! I then explained that I was going to drive my car here this afternoon and was it ok if I parked it?

Well, I could have been speaking Martian because these guys could not understand a single word!!! I tried again, and was very careful to get the correct tone etc etc, but all to no avail.

Where am I going wrong? This was very frustrating, especially since I have no probs speaking with my teacher and GF. Maybe they were just pig-ignorant or perhaps from Cambodia?? :D (Or maybe they just like winding up Farangs!!)

Possibly Cambodians, but I have encountered this myself. I have lived here for 15 years and have to say, my tones are pretty good. Most people understand me. However, one time I went with my husband to the local snooker hall (no, he doesn't gamble, just likes to play :o ) and ordered a soda. Not a hard one for any Thai person to understand, you'd think. So-da, right? The girl looked at me like I was speaking some other language and had to look to my husband who then said, "So-da" exactly the same way I had! I think it's because they don't expect a farang to be speaking Thai so they just assume it isn't Thai and can't understand.