Will A Masters In Education -

ajannick

I'm thinking of studying the Masters in Education program with the Open University next year.

I have several years teaching experience in Thailand.

I have a BSc hons degree from a university in England.

I have a TEFL certificate done in Bangkok.

My question is: Would a good international school be interested in hiring me once I've completed the masters course?

Many Thanks Nick.

"Will a Masters in Education" Main heading.

"get me into a good international school?" Sub heading.

Questions are often split into these two sections on the forum, but as proved by you, the later may sometimes go un-seen.

There is nothing wrong with being old, once one accepts the slight loss of vision.

Boring and Pedantic on the other hand are definite conversation st....

Edited by ajannick

A lot depends on what kind of subject we're talking about- if it's sciences or mathematics or another subject in great demand, you might have a chance. I think they prefer NOT to hire locally when possible, though- and they prefer PGCEs (or their equivalents), which involve licensing, a criminal check, and observed practice teaching. However, it would open a lot of other doors even if the 2 or 3 "real" international schools weren't interested.

It might even depend what the major focus is on the M.Ed. If it's just philosophy of education, that won't mean much. Administration and supervision might help get a job later as boss. If it's in teaching a target subject (science, math, health, etc.) that might be positive in some circumstances.