Arrange A Job Beforehand Or Not?

nomade

I'm planning to come and teach in Thailand this autumn and would like your opinions as to whether it's better to set up a job before arriving or not. I have a degree and a TEFL cert + years of teaching experience so I should be able to get a job no problem, but I'd like to work legally.

From what I can see you need a non imm B visa to get a work permit. This visa can only be got outside Thailand (I think) with a letter of engagement from your employer. So that would suggest you need to have a job arranged before you arrive. Also there is the question of getting airlines to let you on board with a one-way air ticket... much easier if you have the proper visa etc.

On the other hand, I've seen lots of people recommending you look for work once you get to Thailand. It means you can meet your prospective employer and see what the place you'll be teaching at is like. Also a lot of jobs seem to require a face-to-face interview, which is understandable.

So, is it best to find something once you arrive or not? What did the old hands do?

There are two ways of setting up an initial job before arriving in Thailand:

1. Through the "real" international school network- in other words, the Harrow, the Shrewsbury, the NIST set. If you get this kind of job, you're set. All the paperwork will be fine, and the benefits are princely relative to cost of living. But your qualification ducks must all be in a row, and generally you must be living (and teaching) OUTSIDE Thailand to be eligible.