Wishing To Become English Language Teacher

dsfbrit

I am a 53 year old expat living in Pattaya. I have a University degree in Maths and Computing and would like to start teaching English in the Pattaya area.

I have no real knowledge of the teaching profession in Thailand and apart from training courses I conducted for employees over many years, I have no teaching experience at all.

I have a reasonable knowledge of English Grammar rules, having learnt German some years ago and also spending the last 3+ years learnig to read/wirte and speak Thai.

I intend to brush up on these skills and enrol on a TEFL course.

All that I have read about TEFL courses leads me to believe that the CELTA Cambridge course is the best.

However, I cannot find one of these near Pattaya, so would like to know if this qualification is a major advantage. For example, there is a non-CELTA course in Jomtien, would someone please advise me if this is a useful course for me to take. I will only ever teach in Thailand.

It also offers jobs - any thoughts on this would also be appreciated.

Thanks for you help, no doubt I will have lots more questions !!!

Edited by Ijustwannateach
No links, please.

If you were young and energetic, intending to teach EFL forever (for a pittance), then the "Cambridge CELTA" would teach you how to teach English to adults anywhere in the world. But as Ijustwannateach has already mentioned, Thailand has many providers of TEFL courses, most of which would train you to teach children in Thailand (and everywhere) as well as adults, and at a cheaper price. Again, search the topics here in this forum, and do your homework in searching.

Fair comments, from which you have confirmed my 'gut feeling', that as long as the Ministry Of Education recognizes the course, then that will be sufficient qualification for me to teach in Thailand.

Thanks guys, I will go and investigate and maybe have more questions sometime in the future.

Edited by dsfbrit