Where To Live In Chiang Mai

Dietmar

Hi all you residents or those who are knowledgeable about Chiang Mai.

We will be arriving in Chinag Mai on September 19, 2004 and want to "put down our tents there" for at least a year. Now here is the interesting part, we have never been to Chiang Mai. I have been in a number of places in Thailand and my fiance is Thai, so we are not totally without some background. Further I have some experience doing this - done it elsewhere before.

Here are some criteria which are important to /her/me/us:

a) Want to live in a detached home in a nice area

B) It should be a mixed area - I do not want to live in a "farang" only area.

c) I am an active jogger, so a park or at least quiet streets nearby are important, other sports facilities would be welcome

d) It should not be too far from the city or at least major shopping, so it can be easily reached by motor bike

e) It should not be farther than about 30 minutes (taxi) from the airport, due to some possible frequent travel requirements.

f) A fast internet connection should be available in the area

Any recommendations?

Looking forward to meeting some of you

Dietmar

There are some houses on the estate I am buying a house on available for rent or sale, nice area, 10 mins from airport, small mixed community, will only be 70 houses when complete, some great jogging routes. Hit me back if you want further information. I looked extensively and i like what I am getting I know I will be happy there :o

ThaiPauly,

thanks, we are certainly am interested in more info. Please feel free to post as much as you can. Especially, is there a high speed internet connection available?

We appreciate all the help we can get and want to prevent having to move again and again within short periods of time.