Evolution

somtaamgaiyang

I think in the main it’s irrelevant to what the Buddha said. The Buddha talked about how to understand the mind and the external world is only of interest in terms of how it impacts on the mind. In terms of the mind (I’m not talking about the brain) intensions and desires are the forces that define development or regression.

A member of the sangha sitting in their forest retreat can understand the idea of evolution and it may well appear true with regards to the evidence of the external senses but of what use is it to them in fulfilling their quest for internal knowledge.

I'm no expert so don't take what I say as having any basis these are just my thoughts on the matter.

I think if you were to ask most modern Buddhist teachers if there were any conflict between Buddhist philosophy and the scientific theory of evolution, they would say no.

A defintive canonical answer to the question isn't possible, I don't think, from reading the Tipitaka alone, as the books contain very little cosmology.

And of course, Darwin's theory of evolution hadn't yet been invented. :o

Had one of the Buddha's disciples asked Buddha directly about evolution, he might have related it to the famous poison arrow parable. Or it might have been treated as one of the 'fruitless questions', such as those about reincarnation, the answer for which was often "This question does not tend to edification."

Shakyamuni was asked many questions which are being asked today: such as, Is there a God? Who created the world? Is there life after death? Where is heaven and he11? The classic answer given by the Buddha was silence. He refused to answer these questions purposely, because "these profit not, nor have they anything to do with the fundamentals of the religious life, nor do they lead to Supreme Wisdom, the Bliss of Nirvana."