Worried About Being Fired To Save Vacation Pay

gabacho

I have been teaching at a government school for eight months, and I lack three months to receive the one months end of the year vacation pay. I am planning to leave at the end of the year and the school knows this.

Judging from conversations that I have had with several former and current teachers, there is strong reason for me to be worried that the school will attempt to fire me before the end of the year in order to save the vacation pay that they would owe me if I finished the year.

Is there any protection or recourse against this?

Edited by gabacho

I have been trying to get a copy of my contract ever since I have been here without success. When I request it, I always get some vague answer about how I will get it "soon". Other teachers here have also been unable to get copies of their contracts.

Do you have a work permit? If not, you are working illegally and the school has employed you illegally- though you are eligible for a (tiny) bit of severance pay no matter what your contract says and despite your illegal work, if you try to seek legal recourse you will also face penalties for this.

If you *do* have a work permit you are entitled to a tiny bit of severance plus whatever your contract promises you on top of this. A letter from a lawyer may jelp to focus the mind of the school on making you happy to avoid legal entanglements.

Unfortunately, this kind of practice is very common in Thai schools.

"S"

I have been trying to get a copy of my contract ever since I have been here without success. When I request it, I always get some vague answer about how I will get it "soon". Other teachers here have also been unable to get copies of their contracts.