Stingray Names In Thai Language

redsox

Hi,

I was searching for some translation of english to thai and stumbled upon this informative website. I apologise if I post in the wrong forum.

Does anyone know the following stingray names in thai?

Reticulata Ray

Polka Dot Ray

Motoro Ray

Sakura (flower) Ray

Thanks.

redsox

Hi redsox and welcome,

I have a poster on my wall of freshwater fish in Thailand (becasue I have a fish farm) but that's not going to help you unfortunately.

I'm very grateful for all the help this forum has given me so I'll try my best to be a helper for the first time.

Sorry I'm not good at the pronunciation so hopefully someone else will give you the romanised pronunciation.

Ray - รังสี

Reticulata - I cant find this in my dictionary. The closest I get is reticulate

Polka Dot - Amazingly it's in the dictionary. Jeez this is a big word. Gonna take me 20 min with my thai spelling. ลำยดอกเป้นจุดเล็ก, 8 minutes - not bad.

Motoro - Sorry not in dictionary either

Sakura (flower) - No sakura (sounds Japanese) but flower is ดอกไม้

LIke I said, this will not be of much use to you unless someone tells you how to say it. Sabaijai, snow_leopard, meadish or Richard, can you help?

I had a website for all types for fish but I've not saved the address. google 'saltwater fish thailand database' and you should find something usefull.

Good luck redsox

Hi Redsox. I know precious little about fish, but anyway:

Ray - รังสี - /rang sii/ OR 'rung see' to make it less according to IPA (International Phonetic Alphabet) but clearer for an English speaker. The first syllable has a short vowel sound and a mid tone, the second syllable has a long vowel sound and a rising tone.

CORRECTION: rang sii means ray as in 'radiation', not as in the fishes name!!!

This is why it is impossible to determine usage on the basis of most Thai dictionaries - very few of them list examles of actual usage of a word.