Confused About Tones

Oswulf

I'm just starting to learn to read Thai, and textbooks tell me that syllables ending in a short vowel sound are dead and have a tone according to the class of the initial consonant - Low/Medium/High consonants resulting in High, Low and Low tones respectively.

Why, then, are words such as ใน ดํา and เอา all pronounced with a mid tone? As is the second syllable of อะไร.

I'm just starting to learn to read Thai, and textbooks tell me that syllables ending in a short vowel sound are dead and have a tone according to the class of the initial consonant - Low/Medium/High consonants resulting in High, Low and Low tones respectively.

Why, then, are words such as ใน ดํา and เอา all pronounced with a mid tone? As is the second syllable of อะไร.

Is it perhaps because none of the syllables you question are short (dead) vowels? Dipthongs, such as ใน & อะไร (second syllable) are not considered short vowels, and ดํา is not considered a short vowel regardless of what the small mark that I can barely see denotes. All are open long vowels as far as tone rules are concerned.

An alternative view, with the same consequence, is that syllables such as ใน do have a short vowel, but end in a consonant (/y/ to be precise. or /j/ in strict IPA), and that syllables ending in /m/, /n/, /ng/ (single consonant - most fonts don't have the letter eng), /w/, /y/ or /l/ - 'resonants' - are live.

This is the reason that ดํา is a live syllable, and therefore pronounced [M]dam.

The mark at the top of this word is a นิคหิต [H]nik[H]kha[L]hit English/Pali 'niggahita', labelled 'nikhahit' ('whoops! Should have been 'nikkhahit') in the Unicode standard. It's the same as a Devanagari anusvara, and indicates nasality or a following nasal consonant.

Pedantically, the syllables appearing to end in a short vowel should actually end in a glottal stop, which is why they are dead syllables.