What Toys Do Young Isaan Kids Go For?

rockyysdt

Hi BM's

I'll be visiting my girlfriends family in Isaan later this year.

She has two young children, a daughter two, and a four year old son.

I thought it would be nice to offer them gifts when I visit.

What do thai kids this age go for?

I hope this isn't a stupid question. I'm out of touch when it comes to toddlers and young kids, and I'm also not familiar with life in this part of the world.

I thought perhaps a cuddly teddy bear for the girl and some kind of ball game for the boy.

Can anyone help me?

Any suggestions would be welcome.

cheers

Danny

:o

Hi Dan

If your not too sure what to buy, why not have an outing to Big C (plus KFC) and let them all choose for you. My 'crowd' used to love a visit out like this, when I was a part-time resident and the kids like running round a big store causing havok!

This way all the family is involved and thats what Thai's like

Have a good trip

Dave

I agree with 'no batteries'.

It will only last the time of the original batteries and then it will either be a burden (money to buy new ones) or it will be left in a corner.

Balls are good for boys as it will allow them to play with the other kids.

If you go more expensive a bicycle would be both useful and fun

After a few years of bringing small gifts to the village I have found for young girls and boys the winner is stationary, colouring books, coloured pencils, crayons etc. Anything mobile is short lived.

For adults a handfull of $2.00 reading glasses, warm flannel shirts, cheap polo shirts and a bag of $2.00 shop lipsticks and cosmetics has been snapped up quickly.

Those cheap material shoulder bags are also very well recieved.

Another hit with the older folk are small hand held torches, as long as they have easy switches for arthritic hands.

Push on/off has been a favourite.

Warm blankets have always been appreciated by any generation.