Chiang Mai Immigration

craig

I am presently living near Pattaya and have a "retirement" visa. I am considering moving to the Chiang Mai-Pai area. How friendly are the immigration officials in Chiang Mai. I find the officials here in Pattaya are friendly, helpful and easy to deal with. What is the story on the immigration office in CM?

Thanks for any information. I am thinking of either finding a place on the outskirts of town or in the mountains heading toward Pai...my Thai girlfriend and her children will move with me. She likes Pai but is wary of travelling on the road to Chiang Mai on any sort of regular basis...also the distance from medical facilities. :o:D

Craig,

I've been visiting the Chiang Mai Immigration office for the last five years and find them to be polite and helpful. My only problem at the beginning was bringing a lawyer's assistant with me. They don't like it. Now I go with my Thai wife just in case there's a translation problem. Chiang Mai Immigration will want a doctor's letter, from a hospital, stating you are in good health and you don't have any communicable diseases. If you have 800K in a Thai bank you will need you bank book to show you had that amount in you account for most of the year and a letter from the bank verifying your account balance. If you have money wired into Thailand then bring all the transfer receipts along with your bank book. They want copies of everything including your passport and don't forget 2 photos. I assume all of this is the same in Pattaya but thought I'd mention it anyway.

The Immigration office is located on Sanam Bin Road, after Airport Plaza, just before you turn left towards the airport.

Craig,