Need Help Writing Letter

OneMind

Hi, I have been planning on going to Thailand to ordain as a monk for some time now and I have finaly got enough money together to take off. I think I would rather have a wat to go to when I land rather than just wander around and hope for the best. Of all my research done on the web, I have been only able to find one wat that accepts westerners "wat pa nanachat"

I am thinking of going there because it is the only one I know of, does anyone else know of another?

Anyway, at the site I discovered the forest monastery, it said write ahead to avoid dissapointment. I am not very good at writing letters and i dont know where to start.

Should I adress it to the abot, like, Dear Abbot or Dear Bhante or Dear Monks :o

This probably sounds silly but any help would be greatly appreciated :D

Thanks

OneMind, almost any monastery in Thailand will accept foreign applicants for ordination, the rub being that if you expect to receive dhamma instruction in English, then your choices are narrowed to perhaps 12-20 places around the country.

A very good resource, if a bit out of date, is my friend Bill Weir's A Guide to Buddhist Monasteries and Meditation Centres in Thailand, published by the World Fellowship of Buddhists in Bangkok. A free online version is available at:

Guide to Buddhist Monasteries

Some wats require that you stay a certain length of time as a layman, perhaps in white robes, before being ordained as a samanera (novice monk), and then as a bhikkhu (fully ordained monk). Wat Pa Nanachat has such a policy, last I checked. It's a good place to spend time anyway, whether you ordain or just stay on as a lay student. I can also recommend Wat Ram Poeng in Chiang Mai, Wat Phra That Chom Thong in Chom Thong and Wat Suanmok in Chaiya as places with regular English-language instruction.