Visa Extension As Volunteer Teacher

Yes, it's related to visas, and I have already posted in the visa forum. But I just want to ask some specific questions relating to visa extensions for teachers.

I'm 49 and only 1 year away from that magic 50 figure whereafter I have a choice of longstay visa options (retirement or support of my Thai son). But I'm not 50 yet and have just divorced from my Thai wife!! So bang goes the chance to extend my current non-immigrant 1 year visa extension for another year! Unless....... I can find a way to extend it based upon other criteria.

So, after examining Sunbelt's translation of the immigration/visa extension rules, it seems that if I am a teacher in a government school, then I can request a 1 year visa extension, regardless of what salary I earn etc.

It seems that I am qualified to teach English (Msc, BSc, TEYL) in a government school. (I have previously taught English in Thailand at Prathom level). So my plan would be to teach as a volunteer (unpaid) teacher at my local government prathom school, which has no 'farang' teacher. I'm well-respected in our local community (I'm the community volunteer tourist police officer), so it is likely that the school will be keen for me to teach. It should also be possible to get a WP (provided that the school do some paperwork etc which I hope they will be able to do..). I am lucky enough to get free board and lodging with my exwife (hmmmm....)

But has anyone on this forum ever received a 1-year extension to an existing non-immigrant visa for volunteer teaching in a government school? Especially, what other documents (criminal record check, teacher's licence etc) were required.

I hope that this is a feasible solution. Otherwise, in order to get a visa extension, I will be forced to remarry my exwife, (which is rather like remarrying the devil in a skirt.....)

Simon