Why Do They Add Tones To Everything!

StrongView

Can someone explain to me why Thai's add tones to English words? It's really getting on my nerves today.... you won't be able to hear the tones, but I'll try to be phonetic, to some degree.... I work in the IT industry, so my words have to do with computers and stuff....

"Web-sa-ite" = Website

"Ser-vurrrr" = server

"Mon-ih-turr" = monitor

"speek-urrr" = speaker

and then with the US elections.... they add tones to John Kerry's name...makes me laugh. This happens across the board with all English words that make their way into Thai (this is the only other language I speak, so it's the only one I know this happens with). It's like......who's in charge? Who decides that it has to have a tone or two, and then who specifies it's the one that everyone has to use?

Anyone know why this is? It drives me nuts when I'm speaking Thai and saying something that is clearly an English word....and I try and hold out to not say it with a tone....and I , of course, get the blank stare. If I'm going to Index Living Mall in Lad Prao....I have to say "pai IndeK Liwing Mawn" and then they get it....If I even say "Index Liwing Mawn" I get the blank stare of a lifetime....

Is anyone else going crazy from this today?

> Can someone explain to me why Thai's add tones to English words?

Partially, yes. As you may know, tones in Thai are governed by the consonants that make up a word. Something starting with for example 'b' or 'g' and ending in either a k, p or a t sound will always have a low tone, unless of course tone markers are used to force a tone. Keep in mind that with a Thai accent, also words ending in S, X, F and perhaps others will get a de facto t or p ending as Thai words just don't end in these consonants. Anyway. Just like other accents of non native English speakers (or even native English speakers :o, the automatic trained thing to do will be to apply the appropriate tone.