Payap University: Class Notes

Lithobid

Hi all,

I am currently attending Payap University's Intensive Thai Study program in Chiang Mai. I thought it would be a nice idea to give a little back to the helpful members of Thai Visa, and decided to start this class notes thread. These are daily class notes of discussions and vocabulary that we talk about in the classroom.

The program here at Payap consists of 2, 1.5 hr. classes each morning. There is Listening and Speaking from 8:30-10:00 and Reading and Writing from 10:30-12:00. For the L/S section I'll list vocabulary that comes up in discussion. And for R/W I'll try to give examples & usages for any grammatical type vocabulary that comes along.

I am by no means an expert in the language, and even farther from a good typist. I will make daily mistakes I'm sure, but part of this Blog is to practice typing vocabulary to familiarize myself with the Thai keyboard. Hopefully this will inspire some daily contributions of examples and conversation about different usages, and concepts. One great bonus about TV is a diverse member group, which allows us to compare ideas across cultures and languages.

I hope this is helpful to some and brings along some knowledge and insight to the forum. Please feel free to add daily, especially if you are studying Thai elsewhere in Thailand!!

Lithobid :o

P.S. If you do type in Thai on this page, I ask that you please try to use a large font size 4 or greater for those of us learning to read the Thai language. Thank you. :D:D:D

Edited by Lithobid
  • Thanks 1

Class notes

Term 1

30/6/08

Speaking & Listening

General Discussion Vocabulary

ดาว - star

พระจันทร์ –Moon-เดือน

พระอาทิตย์์ – Sun

มีแดดIt is sunny. ("Have sunlight") Just the word 'sunlight' is แดด or แสงแดด

ผิว (skin) + ไหม้ = ผิวไหม้ – sunburn

Geographical Words

ประทศ - Country

ภาค – Region

จังหวัด – Province

อำเภอ – District

ตำบล – Division / District

หมู่บ้าน - Village

รถติด – Traffic