Mate / Buddy

Sunburn

Is there a word in Thai similar to the British 'mate' or American 'buddy'? T rak seems to be used only by close female friends and seems inappropriate for 2 men for example. Is there different words for aquaintances/close friends/friends of opposite sex? Sorry if I'm asking a really obvious one, but I'm just starting to learn Thai and have not come across anything similar yet.

Using the prefix 'Ai' before your mates name shows familiarity and freindship. Be warned though. Only use this to close friends as it can have derogotory meanings as well.

'Pee' and 'Nong' are more terms of endearment or respect but can also be used in a friendship context.

'Tee Rak' means 'Darling' and should only be used to your significant other.

Nope, there is no exact equivalent.

If you used the Thai word for "friend" as much as some Brits, Americans and Aussies tend to use "buddy", "mate", "old chap" etc., you'd be considered to have a minor case of bats in the belfry.

"Pee" (older sibling) is a normal word of address that signals a willingness to not be distant but should be used only for people who could be your older sibling. In some cases though, a technically younger person will be called "pee" if he/she has a significant amount more of power than the speaker. This is nothing to emulate though.

"Nong" is then the word that the other person would use to refer to you, the younger party... if they consider it appropriate. Unless your Thai is already quite advanced, Thais will probably feel more comfortable using "khun" with you. It is a more formal pronoun for "you".

Go with "khun" for you and "phom" for "I" (male) when in doubt. They are sufficiently polite for most situations but the most formal.

Using the prefix 'Ai' before your mates name shows familiarity and freindship. Be warned though. Only use this to close friends as it can have derogotory meanings as well.