Urgent - Labor Laws And Foreigners - Urgent

Hi Folks,

I am posting this as both a potential warning, and as a question, since I am having to go through this ordeal myself.

I have a Thai family and have been living and working here, full-time, for almost 5 years. I have been a teacher at a new international school for the last two years, having completed my second year at the school this last June. In January the school sent out questionnaires to some of the teachers saying that they were interested in having them back for next year, and were we planning on staying with the school. I was one of the ones who received the letter - I checked the YES box, signed the letter, and returned it to my coordinator. I would have a job next school year - HA!

February came and went, March arrived, and people began asking at teacher meetings about when contracts would be drafted, etc. We were told that a new business and HR manager was hired, and we would have to wait while they were brought up to speed.

March evaporated, and well into April, one or two people had been given contracts, but all the senior teachers, ready to begin our third year, had not been given any. When we would ask, again, we were told that the new HR dept. was working diligently to sort through our cases and et everyone taken care of, that we had nothing to worry about, and to please be patient.

May 1st arrived and ALL senior teachers received a "Letter of Gratitude" from the school saying that our last day of work was the last day of school, and to have a nice life. WE WERE OUT OUR JOBS!

We were given only 30 day notice, and notified long after all the job and teaching fairs had concluded in January and February - we were screwed, and many of us have families and kids! There was nothing wrong with our job performances - we all had glowing performance reviews. It was unprovoked.