Intensive Thai At Chula (basic 1 - Advanced 2), Your Questions Answered Here!

EthicsGradient

I studied Chula's intensive Thai program from May 2007 -April 2008. I've seen it get mentioned a lot here although it seems like not too many people have firsthand experience with it, so I thought I'd make myself available to answer any questions people might have about it. (I've got a week in Bangkok to kill before I go back home, and lots of free time to type this up) I was originally typing this as a reply in the pinned thread, but it seems a little long for that now.

The basics: class is five days weeks for four hours a day (10-3, with one hour for lunch). The teachers mentioned they were thinking about starting a 2-hour/day "non-intensive Thai" course as well, although it still hasn't materialized. It's broken in to 9 levels of five weeks each, Basic 1-3, Intermediate 1-3, and Advanced 1-3. Class size is limited to 10 people, although if they'll often have more than one room going at the lower levels. You can schedule a placement test for 500 baht, and you can also buy their textbooks. If you miss more than 5 days of a course, you're automatically failed unless you have a pretty good reason.

Visas are sponsored, although speaking from experience it's important to request the sponsor letter at least a week or two in advance of when you need it. You'll probably be given a 3 month visa which you'll need to get extended in three month incriments with more for 1400 baht a pop (immigration's fee). I was a got lucky, I asked them to try writing me a special letter since I was a degree-seeking university student, and immigration gave me a full year visa.

In case you're going to stop reading here, I'll summarize by saying Basic/Intermediate is the best language instruction I've ever had (I've had a lot, I've studied Spanish, Japanese, and Chinese before Thai), but the course is definitely not suitable for anyone not planning to use it professionally or academically.

Basic