Music Production

Riley'sLife

Any Board Members into Music Production? I am exploring the possibility of buying additional sounds to compliment my existing Sequencing software (Ableton, Fruity Loops, and Cubase).

On a recent trip to N America I bought a Line 6 TonePort KB 37, which allows me to record audio (Vocals, Guitar, Base, -with GearBox software an amazing array of guitar and Bass types, Amps and cabinets are selectable) direct onto my laptop HD via Ableton sequencer software, with virtually zero latency, in addition to input of MIDI FM or Sampled virtual instruments, drum kits etc. using the attached piano keyboard.

But, I need to increase the number of VST plug-ins with perhaps a DVD based set of Sound Samples like VI.ONE, and/or add a decent software Synth such as Ableton Operator, Omnisphere (ouch – expensive).

So, if anyone has experience they are willing to share.. this is the thread! I am not a professional, nor am I a Techie but I enjoy making music.- most Genre. I am just starting out with this new interest and so don’t have much experience.

All members’ input appreciated.

Cheers Rick

I spent many a year happily producing break beat in my youth before life and work took over. One bit of advise I have for you is that you don't need a lot of VST plug ins. I ended up with a few hundred and all you ended up doing is playing with them tweaking making strange sounds that you do very little with. I would recommend you get two or three that suit your style of music and get to know them inside out. And having a too big sample library can be dangerous too, (I have over a thousand) and you spend more time clicking through your library, than actually using what you've got.

Any Board Members into Music Production? I am exploring the possibility of buying additional sounds to compliment my existing Sequencing software (Ableton, Fruity Loops, and Cubase).