Tone Deaf

buadhai

I'm tone deaf, pure and simple. When I was in the 5th grade I was the only kid not allowed to sing in the chorus at the Christmas pagent. I learned how to play the clarinet, but after a few years my teacher abandoned me, saying that I just didn't have what it takes to be a musician. I once made the mistake of trying to sing at a karaoke bar in Tokyo. The Japanese were dumbfounded at my ability to sing "My Way" from beginning to end, all on one note. The microphone never again came "my way".

I've been traveling to Thailand since 1977. I've studied Thai for years. I can even read and write a bit.

But, I can't understand much spoken Thai and no one understands me when I talk.

My Thai girlfriend, a college educated professional, simply gave up. "Maybe you'll learn when we move there." The last time we had a lesson she was trying to get me to parrot two different tones. After many tries she just said, "Sorry Mike, I just can't hear any difference."

Trouble is, neither can I.

Please don't tell me I use tones in a different way when I speak English. I don't. People who talk to me on the phone say that I sound distant, or depressed, or angry and that my tone is flat. Since they don't have any visual clues and since I don't use tones, that I know of, it is very difficult to figure out the intent of my words.

Now, certainly there are Thai kids born with an affliction similar to mine. How do they learn to speak and understand their tonal language.

How can I overcome my handicap and learn to understand and speak Thai?