Horrific Revelation

Bobcat

I have been learning Thai for 5 years and am quite fluent. I was chatting to some Thai colleagues in the office today and one of the guys poked fun at me when I said the word มาก. He said that my tone was way too long and that I sounded very feminine. It's not as if I extended the มาก for 5 seconds or anything!! I have never considered my spoken Thai to be feminine, but it got me thinking. My teacher is a female. Have I picked up female speaking habits without knowing it? Do I come across to most Thai men as feminine. I am afraid to open my mouth in front of any of my Thai male colleagues for fear of being ridiculed even further!!!

Any thoughts? - other than the fact that I am being a big sissy :o

Bob

I have been learning Thai for 5 years and am quite fluent.  I was chatting to some Thai colleagues in the office today and one of the guys poked fun at me when I said the word มาก.  He said that my tone was way too long and that I sounded very feminine.  It's not as if I extended the มาก  for 5 seconds or anything!!  I have never considered my spoken Thai to be feminine, but it got me thinking.  My teacher is a female.  Have I picked up female speaking habits without knowing it?  Do I come across to most Thai men as feminine.  I am afraid to open my mouth in front of any of my Thai male colleagues for fear of being ridiculed even further!!! 

Any thoughts?  - other than the fact that I am being a big sissy :o

Bob

I wouldn't worry about: there are many ladyboys in Thailand !! :D