What Strategy To Take?

jirikoo

Hi to everyone,

I fell in love with Thailand on my last visit and want to come back. So I've decided to set off sometimes around April or so.

My priority is to take a break and get away from and after the European winter, but as im a certified ESL teacher I am thinking of landing a teaching job once there.

The drawback is that I am 'only' a Czech, thus non-native English speaker and hold no uni degree. I live now back in CZ and start arranging for the trip including visa.

What is the best strategy to take? I have got a couple of questions that may sound silly (sorry for them upfront)

1) Should I try to arrange/apply for the work offshore while still in CZ before I fly out to Thailand?

Considering my education and nationality, it seems I have only a dog's chance to get successfully through an application process - is that right? I know, I can find out from the local embassy but I want to be ready before I call at their office. What kind of visa should I enquire after? What 'story' am I to come up with?

2) Or..., another option is to fly to Bangkok on tourist visa, turn up in some of Bangkok's schools and possibly get a teaching job. Then, if accepted, fly out, apply for visa and come back? May I apply for visa while in Thailand (Bangkok)?

Be sure, I am heading to Thailand in any case - if unsuccessful in teaching, I'll just do some travel and most importantly enjoy the sun!

Please clarify this for me,

The warmest regards

Chances are any work you arrange before coming here will be under disadvantageous conditions.

Proper paperwork is notoriously difficult to arrange- I would be surprised if you had a work permit within the first year, unless you were very lucky. It may help if you sought work through an agency, but once again salaries would be disadvantageous.