Possible To Set Up Consulting Business Serving A California Company?

Likely no one will have a similar situation, but any experiences would be appreciated.

I'm a self-employed consultant doing restructuring/turnaround work. So work prospects are fairly high. But I'm at the point where I lose so much to taxes, extra hours aren't worth it. And we know tax rates are going up. I can reduce my hours and do less on-site work and still make good money. I'm American so would do this under the Amity Treaty, probably as a sole proprietorship.

• First, is it possible to create a company without starting business right away? Is there some time limit until business has to be done or could I fly over, set one up, fund it, fly back to the US and take some months or more to start doing anything under the company?
  • Next, is it allowable to start a company in Thailand that primarily does consulting services for a US company?
  • Finally, does it have to be a single business type or could it be multiple business types? Could I for instance run a restaurant and do consulting or do different businesses have to be separate?

Hello C6 -

The answer to all three of your questions is "Yes."

A functioning company (with completed tax registration) on the ground in Thailand must comply with three requirements:

1. Company must maintain a legally-sufficient registered business address - which generally means you must be paying some building owner to certify to the Revenue Department that your company is a commercial tenant, and there must be some human presence at that address, M-F, 9-5, to speak up for your company if Revenue Department pays a visit (person dose not have to be an employee of your company).