Teachers permit

Posting yet again.

Have learnt I'll need a Teachers Permit to legaly teach in Thailand.

So how do I apply?  Where do I go what paper work do I need?

Most importantly right now, do I need my Non Imm B visa first, or not?

My employers are of little help, they've only done this once before, and they speak very little English.  

I have a degree in Physics and a 40 hour 'on line' TEFL course certificate from a school based in the U.K.

I also have 10 months experience of teaching in a certain country which may be not too far from here and which I won't be able to mention or I'll be in trouble.

Will my degree and budget TEFL be sufficient to get the permit?

Any help appreciated.

Yes, you do need your non-imm B visa to get a teachers permit.  You also need a work permit.  You should also have a tax card to pay your taxes.

Or....

You can do like a lot of us teachers do.

Work using only your tourist visa, or get your multi entry non-imm B visa and never mind the rest.  It means you'll have to leave the country every 3 months.... but don't you need a break from the pollution and traffic every three months or so anyway  :D

But seriously, if you want to do it "right"  :o  You'll need to get your non-imm B, work permit, tax card, and teachers permit.

How many teachers have a teachers permit???  I've never seen one before  B)

As for the degree and "budget TEFL".  Yes that should be enough.  I assume you're from the UK, so being a native speaker is enough to a lot of schools.

Also, you can't get in trouble by teaching in a country you're not in anymore.  Besides, This is Thailand, nobody cares  :laugh:  :laugh:

Thanks for your help Eric.

I've also been teaching here for ten months on tourist visa.  School now wants me to be legit.

I don' fully understand you though.

Is there any advantage in having a non Imm B visa over having just a tourist visa?