'de'

bina

what is 'de' when used at end of phases like ' ou buree de' .... or 'kin de' referring to my leftover coffee in the cup..... i've been hearing it every day for two years but thought it was a thai version of the hebrew word 'ze' meaning : this....or it so today i asked my friend but was difficult for him to explain , just showed in context....

ดิ really shouldn't be used unless you're talking to a close friend or buddy. It shows very little respect for the other party. A similar word is ซิ.

This ดิ sounds the same but is different from the one used in ดิฉัน which is a very polite way to say "I" for women.

firefox, i cant read thai, can u transliterate possibly, thanx..... and yes he is a very very close friend as well

pvtdick,

but just tones down a command to make it less harsh.
-- isn't that 'na', like 'kin khou na' ? as in: eat please (a mild command).....

It's one of three commonly used imperative markers. Imperatives are expressions ranging from appeals to commands, depending on register (politeness/formality).

The most polite one in everyday conversation, as Firefoxx pointed out, is ซิ ([H]si). With close friends and relatives you can use ดิ ([L]di, or you've written it, 'de').

More informal yet, for close mates only, is เหอะ ([L]hoe, similar to English expression 'huh' but short and low), also เถอะ ([L]thoe; same short vowel as the previous), which should only be used when the person you're talking understands you're just kidding around. Otherwise it's reserved to show you really mean business, with the connotation of anger.

Perhaps there are others, too, but these are the ones I hear in everyday speech.

It's one of three commonly used imperative markers. Imperatives are expressions ranging from appeals to commands, depending on register (politeness/formality).

The most polite one in everyday conversation, as Firefoxx pointed out, is ซิ ([H]si). With close friends and relatives you can use ดิ ([L]di, or you've written it, 'de').