Good Way To Learn ?

sadako

You might want to start with Becker's Thai for Beginners. Book and two CDs. The introduction will get you reading and writing as well which is essential for mastering pronounciation.

If you're happy with that, she also has an intermediate and advanced course available.

Hi All ,

Im new to the language , who knows a good starting point for learning basic Thai ?

Like a CD or course , or book , can anybody reccommend the most useful tool ?

Thanks .

David

If possible, I recommend you combine your self-studies with actual practice together with a native speaker, preferably one who is a qualified teacher. Otherwise you may mess up your pronunciation from the start without knowing it. We have ingrained pronunciation patterns in us, mainly from our first language, but also from any others we have learned. These can be very hard to shake until you become aware of them.

As Thai has a few sounds which are difficult for speakers of Indo-European languages to pronounce, it really helps to have a Thai teacher who is used to correcting mispronunciations by speakers of your language and is aware of the difficulties you face as a beginner.

Most Thais cannot explain much about pronunciation to you because they have no experience of such difficulties.

I personally thought David Smyth's Teach Yourself Thai was an excellent book for beginners, mainly because of the very authentic and useful dialogues.

For any course goes that a tape or CD is absolutely essential. Trying to learn Thai from a book without a native speaker or a tape is like trying to learn how to sing chords from a sheet of notes with no previous concept of what singing is.

Trying to learn Thai from a book without a native speaker or a tape is like trying to learn how to sing chords from a sheet of notes with no previous concept of what singing is.

And some assistance from a "long-haired dictionary" is also useful!!!

:o:D

Hi All ,