I had about 15 beautiful papaya plants that were about 2 mtrs high and just setting flowers and just after the rains started they started yellowing and dropping leaves. I pulled the smallest [and sickest] and found what i would commonly call root rot. I then took it into our local farm supply shop and they diagnosed it as having fungal and/or bacterial [because of the odor] rot and Rxed a systemic antibiotic that was quite expensive and I passed, as I think the plants are too far gone by now to be helped.

My theory is that I simply planted the trees too level to the ground and with our bad draining clay soil, they simply drowned.

But to prevent this in the future, as I have some true 'holland' type seeds comming up and I don't want to waste them, I will make a small hill or mound so that the water drains away and doesn't sit. maybe adding some sand, cocopeat and klab to help with drainage.

how does that sound????

how do the pros do it in a wet, poor drainage area??

I'm not a pro, but how I grow papaya in clay conditions...

I dig a hole about 3 feet deep and put about a foot of rice husks (you call Klab, I call Glaep) in the bottom, then fill with composted cow dung and leaf compost and soil in layers and build up to about 6 inches above ground level so it slopes away.

In the dry season I will dish the top to allow watering, but rainy season fill this dish so the water will run off.

I've found that you need to put some of the clay soil back in the hole because if you just fill with compost and rice husks etc, the wind will blow the plant over! The roots need something to grab hold of solidly.