got the idea from this ThaiVisa thread

from there i followed this link and decided to build a chicken ark.

i had never heard of these things before, but we have a couple of brooders and this seemed like a good thing to do.

basically it is a chicken coop on wheels. move it from place to place in the garden allowing the chickens to roost, rest, poop, play, and eat underneath, and then move it on to another spot.

chicken%20ark%20009.jpg

while i have no experience with it yet, it seems like a good idea for adding fertilizer to the garden and clearing bugs from it as well.

i had a couple of very old and decrepit wheels from a country moto bike trailer. i took off the tires leaving just the rims. i figured i am not talking about revolutions per minute, but revolutions per week so these should be ok.

chicken%20ark%20002.jpg

these were used, with bamboo spacers and copper wire 'nuts', on a piece of rebar we had laying around. the rebar was nylon 'tie wrapped' to the frame. so, as long as we use it sparingly and slowly, the wheels should last as long as the frame. i figure 1 - 2 years and then replace it, or forget it.

chicken%20ark%20004.jpg

we live in a small rural village. dimensioned lumber is not available here. any kind of squared wood is generally difficult to find locally. for small projects such as this, bamboo is king. all other materials, except the wire, was stuff just laying around the place not being used. so my total cost was about 400 Baht. ($12 US) for the wire.

the frame is made from fresh cut bamboo. i chose smaller diameter pieces of bamboo since this is meant to remain light enough to wheel about the yard. i was able to use almost all of it's length by using even the smaller portions for struts and braces. we have a couple of bunches of bamboo growing on our property so i was able to cut my own and strip it for use.

chicken%20ark%20006.jpg