Torturing Myself Over Lenses

neverdie

Both the other half and I enjoy photography. I am only fairly new to it, although my old job use to involve some photography work with SLR's. The GF is a technology head and is much better than I, however we enjoy working together, the best results come with me rattling off ideas and the camera in her hands. :):D

We have decided that we want to buy a new DSLR and have chosen the Nikon D300. I believe this is a Camera that will give her the opportunity to expand into over the next few years, although I doubt I will ever possess the ability to use it to its maxium.

We both enjoy scenery/landscape photograhy, as well as some close up work such as flowers, bugs and the like. We also occassionly like to photograph family goings on here in Thailand, as well as pets etc. We are presently planning trips to Australia and New Zealand, so we naturally want to get up and running before we do that.

I am presently torturing myself and my budget as to what lenses would suit us the most. I am currently looking at the Nikkor AF-S 24-70mm f/208G ED, which seems to be of fairly high quality & with a number of good Nikon features. Its not a cheap lense, but I'm not really too sure if theres something else I could look at, thats perhaps not so expensive, yet still a good lense.

We are also considering a Macro type lense, of which I have no real experience with and have noticed that Nikkor presently offer three new lenses between 60mm and 105mm. Naturally I would love to be able to test some of these lenses over a few days but as thats not an option, I''m not sure which way to jump.

Eventually, when I save more money, I would also like to get a wide angle or fisheye type lense, again I have no experience with these lenses.