Lcd Televisions, Is Hd High Res Sometimes Overkill?

Jingthing

Bear with me, I am not very technical.

I use my tv mostly to watch downloaded movie files, typically 700 meg to 1 gig or so. These are not high def downloads for the most part. I am noticing some very attractive prices on lower end 42 inch LCD televisions. For my purposes, wouldn't it make more sense to buy the lower end screen rather than the latest high res screen, after all if the input isn't high res, what's the point of spending more money? If you are really knowledgeable, perhaps you can suggest more specific specs I should buy for the best bang for the baht for these types of files.

Edited by Jingthing

• Replies 71
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Bear with me, I am not very technical.

I use my TV mostly to watch downloaded movie files, typically 700 meg to 1 gig or so. These are not high def downloads for the most part. I am noticing some very attractive prices on lower end 42 inch LCD televisions. For my purposes, wouldn't it make more sense to buy the lower end screen rather than the latest high res screen, after all if the input isn't high res, what's the point of spending more money? If you are really knowledgeable, perhaps you can suggest more specific specs I should buy for the best bang for the baht for these types of files.

I did a lot of research before I decided to jump to the large felt screen, plasma v LCD Full HD or not I decided that plasma beats LCD hands down ,Some of my Friends the have LCD and now have seen my 42' full HD plasma have regretted going to LCD and not spending the extra few dollars and going "Full HD", Check around there are some good deals about.

also check out "cnet.com"They are a on line consumer researcher into all electrical goods