Teaching In Other Asian Countries Advice Plz

Hi all,

This is quite a complex post so apologises. I have been teaching in Thailand for 12 months and have returned home to visit family. I had little in the way of problems, taught in a variety of different roles and situations but was at home mostly with 7-12 year old children. Sure I had the frustrations with where I saw improvements that could have made a huge difference etc, but was left alone with a free hand the whole time with no interference from anyone which I know many don't get the luxury of!!! I therefore don't wish to be negative or moan in this regard.

I knew however, quite early on that this was a much tougher gig than I was prepared for as most teachers would vouch for no doubt. I still found it highly enjoyable and a great learning experience but there was no way I was going to do it long term in Thailand with the money on offer. So it is time to look elsewhere. I was also fortunate enough to have a friend who runs a language school- so saw much more of the ins and outs in a shorter period of time than most do and can!

What makes it a little harder is that my gf is Thai so I have to consider visa entry when looking for her also! I think with Korea she could probably come in and out on 3 month holiday visas for an initial 12 month period, with Japan however I'm not sure it's so easy.

I have been looking mainly on tefl.com at Korea, Japan and Hong Kong and as anyone with some experience and the apptitude will know there are plenty of jobs out there but quality is a different matter all together!

The boards seem packed with 'we don't want people who are just in it for the money type language schools' even though that's ok for them and exactly what there in it for, or 30 teaching hour a week contracts leaving you feeling 75 at the end of every week including Saturday work of course!