An Expression Of Friendship

JPRG

I recently notice that some of the girls at a bar I have been frequenting for many years started to put the word อ้าย ("ai") in front of my name when addressing me. I was a little confused because I had always been aware this was a derogatory addressing prefix and the girls using it were the girls who had known me for many years without issue. I made some discrete enquiries and found it is also used as an expression of friendship and should feel honored that they are using it. Is there a female equivalent I can use when addressing them.

Yes, that's correct. One of the many senses of this word listed in the Royal Institute Dictionary:

คําประกอบหน้าชื่อเพื่อนฝูงแสดงว่ามีความสนิทสนมมาก มักใช้กันในหมู่เด็กผู้ชาย

"A word prefixed to the names of friends to express close friendship; often used in male adolescent groups."

It comes from an archaic word meaning the eldest male child (ลูกอ้าย). In Lao/Isan it is still used in the sense of older brother, and is used much like พี่.

If you're friendly with them, you could call them น้อง.

Interesting you mention this word, as I was just listening to a song by Bird and Jintara which starts like this;

Bird: อีนางเอย

Jintara: อีหยังอ้าย

When I looked on thai-language I got the following somewhat relevant results for อ้าย;

*prefix, colloquial, ancient - word used by a superior male by placing it in front of an inferior male's name or nickname, e.g. a master calling servant

*prefix, colloquial, ancient - word used among male friends by placing it in front of nicknames to indicate their strong male bond or companionship

*prefix, colloquial, vulgar - a derogatory prefix placed in front of male names or nicknames to express insult—usually used in a negative way

*prefix, colloquial, ancient - an ancient prefix adults use by placing it in front of boys' or much younger men's names/nicknames to express familiarity or kind fondness