Is It Possible To Teach 50 Students To Speak?

steveb

I have been teaching in Thailand for many years and have always had 50 or more students in a class. Now I changed from University to secondary school and I have almost given up on the idea that it is remotely possible to teach 50 students speaking. So, I end up teaching them writing and this not only helps to keep them in their seats but it makes my school administrators happy to see them all in their seats. I know many people have many ways like playing games have group activities but at the end of the day, will their English improve? Maybe a little. So, is their anyone out there who has come up with some solution or is it impossible as we pretend to get 50 students speaking.

lol Well.... teacher.... On behalf of all Thai students .... I think it is quite impossible to teach them all to speak english properly but I am quite sure that they will manage to catch up with everyday used english instead.

Maybe it is broken english but somehow it is helpful for them to be exposed to the native speaker like you.

I am a Thai student who happens to be in an international programme but I was in Thai schools before. Thai kids are used to learning grammers and all the writing process but not the speaking part because most of them have something like " farang phobia" lol and afraid to speak up ...even in university... all classes are more like lecture class .... no need for much participation in discussing things over.