Thia visa - yangon embassy

Many thanks for your comments gents but the FEC's are not a concern nor is my eligibility for the visa (I have been going to Kota Baru for the 3 months visa for several years when I was living in Phuket). Now I am living in Chiang Mai and Yangon is much near (and cheaper!) all I was wondering was, had anyone had been issued a 3 months visa and what difficulties, if any, had been encountered.

Kevin

I live in Chiangmai too, but have always gone to either Laos or Cambodia because the US$300 FEC exchange in Myanmar made that path significantly more expensive.  As such, I'm afraid I have no prior experience regarding visa runs to Yangon to share with you.

I was able to get through one time on only $100 by arguing, but I really don't like arguing with immigration officials in Yangon...

Maybe you have a trick? ::o:

Chuck

thanks for that Chuck. I hear that getting a visa in Laos is a bit of a cattle market affair i.e. long queues, rude officials and bribes being the expected thing. Never tried Cambodia. Do you get a 3 months visa at these places and if so how long do you need to stay to finish the business? Of the 2 which would you recommend at the present time?

Kevin

Hi Kevin,

Last place I went was Phnom Penh, Cambodia, last December (before the natives demolished the place).  It wasn't crowded at all, but the process was a little confusing as it was my first time there.

In theory, you could do it with a stay of only one night, if you arranged your schedule appropriately.  Arrive in the morning on Day 1, go straight to the embassy from the airport, then pick up your passport in the afternoon of Day 2, and fly out that evening.  I ended up staying 5 days, because of a slight snag and the Christmas holiday.  Unfortunately, there's no direct flights between Chiangmai and Phnom Penh.