Thailand -- The Home Of Bibimbap Without Red Pepper Paste

Jingthing

I have been eating Bibimbap for some 30 years now. No, not everyday, but occasionally. So far I have only had Bibimbap in these countries --

USA -- west coast

USA -- midwest

USA -- east coast

Argentina

Hungary

Thailand

In all my year of Bibimbap-ing, I had NEVER been served Bibimbap without the totally necessary KOREAN RED PEPPER PASTE that you mix into the ingredients at your table. In fact, until today, I have never once even had to ASK for the PASTE. It always comes. Sometimes I ask for MORE paste, but that's another story ...

Anyway, today it happened. At a food court at Tesco Lotus Pattaya North Road, Pattaya. Therein is located the Bi Bibimbap Korean food eatery offering a variety of Korean style foods. But featuring Bibimbap. Named after Bibimbap! So you figure they know what Bibimbap is and how it is ALWAYS served.

Think again.

I look at their sample food and pictures. The signage is in English. There is no red pepper paste in sight. So being wary I ask them if they have it. They don't have it. They find the question strange. They assure me the Bibimbap is NOT spicy. I tell them that's the problem! Who are these people; who are the customers for totally wrong Bibimbap?

I am flummoxed.

Thai people? I have never seen Thai people eating Bibimbap in Korean restaurants. Mostly they get the grilled meats. If Thai people did go for Bibimbap, wouldn't they of all people want some HEAT?

Korean people? What self respecting Korean wouldn't find Bibimbap without red pepper paste horrifying? It would be like offering an American a hamburger with no way to add ketchup.

Western people? Of those westerners that know about Bibimbap and like it, wouldn't they know and LIKE that a key necessary element is the red pepper paste?