Apple Iphone - Chai Or Mai Chai?

Petruchio

I would like to have some serious opinions/viewpoints. I am relatively warm and comfortable with my 4 year old (top of the line at the time) cellphone that now needs a new battery, and with my TT&T 3GB home internet connection.

But there is a lot of talk about the Apple iPhone. I've watched their Promo video and they seem handier than pockets on a shirt, but is one worth it for me? That is a question that I guess only I can answer, but it is hard to do, never having experience with such devices.

Daily emailing and voice calling using my cellphone and PC with Yahoo Voice, getting the news (preferably from Fox News and The Washington Times newspaper) along with some on the other side, being in touch with Thais by cellphone as necessary for life here, and doing internet research (in that order of importance since I am a writer) are important to me. The ability to do things "on the go" is not all that important to me except on my long trips back to the States when laying around the airports.

Given those personal realities, do you think the Apple iPhone would be significantly better for me???

I have had 3 iphones but here is the key point out them. While they are pretty good at everything, the thing that really makes them great is their integration with Itunes and the Ipods/Itouches. If you have an ipod or itouch buy an iphone - you will absolutely love it and rave about it as much as anyone else.

If you dont listen to music, audiobooks and podcasts - have no use for an ipod - really it isnt anything that special. If you dont even know what itunes is you wont get excited about it.

Are the above iPhone users/posters located in Chiang Rai?

Just wondering.

Cause if you're in Bangkok/Pattaya, on True, you are on EDGE, maybe WiFi. No 3G in Thailand, except TOT CDMA service around Bangkok.

I don't know what the True mobile coverage in CR is.

Perhaps someone in CR with an iPhone can fill us in.