How Do You Learn To Teach

Deke

I've been asked to consider teaching a course at a Thai university. I have no problem with my knowledge of the subject (I guess that's why they asked me to help teach it) but, other than a few seminar presentations here and there, I have no formal teaching experience.

Over the years, I've sat through more than a few lectures given by others. Some instructors, in my opinion, were much more effective than others. Is there a place that you can learn the "theory" of teaching in a few easy lessons? If not, would taking a TEFL course (even though I won't be teaching English, or even want to teach English) be of any benefit in this regard?

I'm not being offered big money for this but it would probably look good on my resume. Also, if I decide to do this, I want to do it right.

I know a fair amount of people that have decided a TEFL will benefit them even though they won't be teaching EFL/ESL per se (although regardless of the subject you teach there generally will be some English teaching taking place).

Others don't!

I've heard that universities don't expect their permanent lecturers, let alone their guest speakers, to be experienced in classroom teaching, but I don't know. My govt. career back home included various teaching assignments, yet both times they scheduled me for the basic instructor's course, we had to cancel. They insisted I teach anyway. I tried teaching EFL on my own, and did poorly. After I took a TEFL course, I became a better teacher.

However, you won't be teaching EFL. IMHO, if you have 4 WEEKS of free time, go for a real course. If you think you'll be doing more teaching in foreign countries over the next several years, go for it. But if it's a short teaching assignment, to uni. students, why bother?

There is no big secret to teaching – if you know your stuff – as you say you do. All you need to do is to present the information in the most accessible way depending on your students.