Teenagers Langauge.

ThaiAdventure

Ive been slowly learning to read Thai (self taught so very slowly :)). And am at a level where I can read a newspaper in about 1 day with the occasional use of a dictionary (not great I know. But getting there).

I then decided to have a look at a few bloggs/social networking sites to see what I could read in terms of colloquial Thai. Very little as it turns out :D

I came accross this conversation between 2 teenage Thai girls (a little of which is below) and was immediately stumped mainly because of the use of vulgar vocabulary due (i hope) to thier famiiarity. A dictionary isn't much help in this scenario.

Girl 2:

ลั๊ก กุ เลาะ สัด ผอม ปัย น่ มึง

Girl 1:

เม๊ลล น๊ อิ๊ ดอก

กุว์ ก๊ ลั๊ก เมิ๊ง เหมือน กัล

กิน เย๊อๆ เด๊

จะ ดั้ย ทัน กุว์ อิ๊ เตี้ย...

With a lot of use of a dictionary and spelling trial and error I think I have got the gist of the conversation. But a literal translation would be appreciated since it is very easy to mispell (or miss pronounce) a word and get the wrong end of the stick.

(For example I think ลั๊ก should really be รัก and เม๊ลล should really be ไม่ร้อน. กุ =ฉัน but is it the same as กุว์? ).

If it's any consolation, my college educated, 30 year old significant other didn't have much more luck (if as much) as you did in interpreting this. It is to Thai, I would opine, what gangsta rap is to English. Each to his own, but for me, there's way too much Thai to learn to bother with rubish like this. :)

seems like they are spelling things phonetically right but easier to type.. lazy lazeee

กู is just the word for I.. not so vulgar as almost all people use it with one another ( ie friends.. rude when its strangers ) then of course มึง which is the กู equivalent of you.. and i also saw สัด which is the slangy/insult version of the proper word for animal สัตว์