Went into my local Kasikorn bank today and asked for an application for a credit card...I was politely refused as the banks records show (and are correct) that I am a student on an ED visa and dont have an income. I do have a debit card with the KK bank and have lived in Thailand for 9 months minimum balance in this a/c has been 300k of THB throughout my 8 months here...I pointed this out but still no go.

The reason for my credit card request was to have the ability to purchase items online...airtickets etc etc....it wasnt as if I asked for a 1 million baht credit facility at the KK bank.

The stupid part of this is that my classroom attendance is 2 days per week for 3 hours per day...leaving me with a heap of spare time in which to be able to participate in some employment...but my ED visa is clearly marked including my passport that employment is prohibited.

In my experience elsewhere most students are hard at work following their class lessons earning those extra $.

By the way I am 57 years of age and have a genuine interest in learning the Thai language hence my attendance at the school, and am certainly not at the language school for an easy way out on visa extensions.

The KK bank informed me that my debit card can only be used for ATM withdrawals...and this appears to be the case. I have tried to purchase items on the internet with the debit card details and my password but these transactions simply dont proceed

1. Does anyone know of a bank that would issue me with a credit card (subject of course to their conditions)

2. Is it correct that a KK bank debit card can only be used ATM withdrawals or have I been "blocked" behind the scenes in the banks system viz-a-viz my student visa ED status.

Appreciate some thoughts answers from other folk...thankyou

You need to go back to the Kasikorn bank and ask for a K-web shopping card.

This is a virtual card (you do not receive a physical piece of plastic) which is backed by visa and you can use only on line.