Morons Guide To Televisions

neverdie

I realise there are a couple of threads running on televisions and various chat about this brand or that brand, this model or that model etc.

I have no knowledge about these things, I'm still running a tube TV as I don't watch too much & have been too tight to buy another.

Anyway, I'm trying to educate myself online via reading this and that BUT AM GETTING CONFUSED :blink: .

Does anyone want to have a crack at simplifiying this process & making some recommendations about what to look for. I don't even know what size I should be looking for etc. Whats the deal between PLASMA (Old technology) verses LCD, verses LED? Does one use more power than the other. Are there things to consider when buying each one, such as screen life etc.

THE MIND BOGGLES and its information overlaod. Also everytime I speak with a Thai salesman, his make or model is the best and he baffles me with B.S. until I get overload headache.

Im not trying to be entirely lazy by asking for help here, but appreciate some owners will be able give advice based on Experience & not the need to make a sale.

:jap: :jap: :jap:

• Replies 234
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

I was exactly the same as you 6 months ago. After buying a 46" Samsung 6 Series LED I'm still the same and know nothing really.

But, I am very impressed with the picture quality even on some of the True Visions channels.

One thing that I have read about is that LED uses 40% less (or of) power than the LCD equivalent, and that on LED the Blacks are more black and vivid giving a more realistic picture (if one is to believe the literature).

In all likelihood I doubt that there is much discernible difference between LED and LCD but videophiles will know significantly more and be able to notice a difference.

What I do know is that plasma is old technology and that the LCD and LED screens are much better.

Not much help I know... but I'm glad I chose an LED Tele.