Volunteer Tutor In Legal English

I am a retired American lawyer and enjoy spending time in Thailand. But after two or three weeks I get bored - you can only spend so much time eating. I have thought about connecting with a university (or possibly a law firm that does international work) to volunteer to assist some of their students with improving their legal English skills, or talking about the US legal system, etc. I only want to do it as a volunteer, maybe a few hours a week. This is not a question about a visa as I will deal with that, but my questions are:

Is there a real need for this, or would I spend more time trying to do it than actually doing it, and

If there is a need, should I just sent out a bunch of emails to the universities or law firms? If anyone has any ideas on good universities/law firms in Bangkok to contact that would be helpful.

Thanks

To do it legal, you must have a work permit evenfor volunteering. No work permit is issued on the basis of retirement......

So you need to get extensions based on volunteering, which requires that you volunteer for a minimum of 4 hours a week and when you stop volunteering you have to eave Thailand, or apply for an extension of stay based on retirement again. The tricky part is always getting a work pemit, simply because most institutions don't know how to go about that one or simply don't care. Volunteering with a law firm is not possible, as it need to be a registered charity or government institution.

But why not indeed email a few educational institutions in Bangkok.

There is certainly some demand for legal English in Thailand, though it is not huge. Your comment that you might spend more time looking than actually doing is fairly prescient - though doubtless the free/volunteer element will have its draw! :whistling: Thai lawyers who may actually need English for their work are not exactly on the poverty line, so I would urge you to select the recipients of your pro bono munificence carefully.