CMU Fails To Provide Visa Support Documents

I am a foreign student studying Thai language at the Language Institute of Chiang Mai University, starting with a 3-months non-immigrant visa. My class attendance has been 100% perfect. They said they will provide the necessary support documents for me to bring to the local immigration office to renew my visa when the 3 months are up. It was up last week actually but they are unable to provide any documents because their director of the Language Institute, on order from the university president, is refusing to sign any visa related documents. This has been going on for almost a month.

When I confronted the director on what we are supposed to do when our visas expire and we are unable to get a renewal, he said we should just let our visas expire. When I asked him about the potentially serious consequences of over staying with an expired visa, he recommended me "not to do anything dangerous", then it should be "OK". There are many other students who are affected by this irresponsible, unprofessional behavior of the Language Institute at CMU. We paid our tuition (for the entire year) in full, but when it comes to getting the necessary visa, they screw us up through and through.

Stay clear from this school if you are thinking of learning Thai in Chiang Mai. CMU doesn't really want farang students at the Language Institute anyway.

I'm checking out other schools like Payap, etc. Please let me know if you have any good recommendation. Thank you.

• Replies 368
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

Posted Images

If you do not apply for an extension of stay and overstay your current permission of stay, you will face a fine of 500 Baht a day up to a maximum of 20,000 Baht once you exit Thailand or if/when you are discovered - whichever comes first.

Here is what I would do: