Meeting Expats In Bangkok

asya

Hi!

I'm a young anthropology PhD student in Bangkok for the summer. I'm doing research on expatriates who live in Bangkok, looking for their perspective on life and living abroad.

The only problem is that I need to meet some expats!

Anybody have any suggestions for friendly expat hangouts around town where a farang girl won't be looked at funny? Or any organizations that would be good to contact?

I'd love to hear from you!

-Asya

Might also try these folks:

Bnow a unique way to meet n greet.

Of course, there's our own little get together, one upcoming in fact.

Pls see http://www.thaivisa.com/forum/index.php?showtopic=36852

Pls just don't name names for your anthropology thesis,

even tho you'll meet every type of homo sapiens/erectus there :o:D

Actually, it's fairly tame, great ppl, Expat and Thai. :D

Edited by bahtandsold

First a word of warning, anytime an expat is approached to answer a few innocent questions (especially for a school research project), don't be surprised if you get a frosty reception because this is a very popular way to lure people into time share scams here. The scam by the way is the only answer they care about is your name and where you are staying so they can ring your room up and entice you to level 2. That being said, perhaps you would be interested to know about this online research survey:

http://education.arts.unsw.edu.au/farangsurvey.htm

Good luck on your project, but I also think the information you obtain will be highly influenced by where you go looking for people. Getting a random sample might be hard to come by.

Good luck on your project, but I also think the information you obtain will be highly influenced by where you go looking for people. Getting a random sample might be hard to come by.

I agree (but that's only cos we're both on the same forum :D ).